Welcome to Geeklog, Anonymous Tuesday, November 26 2024 @ 04:41 am EST
Geeklog Forums
Windows path problems
Status: offline
maggs
Forum User
Newbie
Registered: 04/11/07
Posts: 14
I can access admin ok but not the root of the site. GL is running on Win 2003 IIS PHP 5.2.1 and MSSQL 2005. My config file paths are below.
The GL files are located in C:\geeklog-1.4.1\ The standard folder layout is used.
IIS has the site setup with the home diectory as C:\geeklog-1.4.1\public_html
// You only need to change this if you moved or renamed the public_html
// directory. In that case, you should specify the complete path to the
// directory (i.e. without the $_CONF['path']) like this:
$_CONF['path_html'] = 'c:/geeklog-1.4.1/public_html/';
// $_CONF['path_html'] = $_CONF['path'] . 'public_html/';
I am sure the paths are wrong but can't seem to get it right. I remember somewhere I read that IIS needs virtual directories setup to point to the public_html folder but that doesn't make sense if the site is already pointing at the folder.
Please help.
Steve
The GL files are located in C:\geeklog-1.4.1\ The standard folder layout is used.
IIS has the site setup with the home diectory as C:\geeklog-1.4.1\public_html
Text Formatted Code
$_CONF['path'] = 'c:/geeklog-1.4.1/'; // should end in a slash// You only need to change this if you moved or renamed the public_html
// directory. In that case, you should specify the complete path to the
// directory (i.e. without the $_CONF['path']) like this:
$_CONF['path_html'] = 'c:/geeklog-1.4.1/public_html/';
// $_CONF['path_html'] = $_CONF['path'] . 'public_html/';
I am sure the paths are wrong but can't seem to get it right. I remember somewhere I read that IIS needs virtual directories setup to point to the public_html folder but that doesn't make sense if the site is already pointing at the folder.
Please help.
Steve
19
17
Quote
Status: offline
jmucchiello
Forum User
Full Member
Registered: 08/29/05
Posts: 985
Why'd you start a new thread?
What does $_CONF['site_url'] contain?
What does $_CONF['site_url'] contain?
11
13
Quote
Status: offline
jmucchiello
Forum User
Full Member
Registered: 08/29/05
Posts: 985
And that machine pings as www.zonadocs.com? IOW, is this the real system where DNS will hit that address?
Random stab, are you sure IIS is set to default to index.php if no index.htm is found?
Random stab, are you sure IIS is set to default to index.php if no index.htm is found?
13
10
Quote
Status: offline
maggs
Forum User
Newbie
Registered: 04/11/07
Posts: 14
This is just a test domain. The production version will be on another machine.
The default document is set to index.php
The DNS is ok as you can get to the admin ok. The site is using host headers to redirect to the correct site. Maybe this could be a problem?
This is giving me a brain ache Time to shutdown and try again tomorrow.
The default document is set to index.php
The DNS is ok as you can get to the admin ok. The site is using host headers to redirect to the correct site. Maybe this could be a problem?
This is giving me a brain ache Time to shutdown and try again tomorrow.
10
14
Quote
ironmax
Anonymous
Quote by: maggs
// You only need to change this if you moved or renamed the public_html
// directory. In that case, you should specify the complete path to the
// directory (i.e. without the $_CONF['path']) like this:
$_CONF['path_html'] = 'c:/geeklog-1.4.1/public_html/';
// $_CONF['path_html'] = $_CONF['path'] . 'public_html/';
I am sure the paths are wrong but can't seem to get it right. I remember somewhere I read that IIS needs virtual directories setup to point to the public_html folder but that doesn't make sense if the site is already pointing at the folder.
Please help.
Steve
I can access admin ok but not the root of the site. GL is running on Win 2003 IIS PHP 5.2.1 and MSSQL 2005. My config file paths are below.
The GL files are located in C:geeklog-1.4.1 The standard folder layout is used.
IIS has the site setup with the home diectory as C:geeklog-1.4.1public_html
Text Formatted Code
$_CONF['path'] = 'c:/geeklog-1.4.1/'; // should end in a slash// You only need to change this if you moved or renamed the public_html
// directory. In that case, you should specify the complete path to the
// directory (i.e. without the $_CONF['path']) like this:
$_CONF['path_html'] = 'c:/geeklog-1.4.1/public_html/';
// $_CONF['path_html'] = $_CONF['path'] . 'public_html/';
I am sure the paths are wrong but can't seem to get it right. I remember somewhere I read that IIS needs virtual directories setup to point to the public_html folder but that doesn't make sense if the site is already pointing at the folder.
Please help.
Steve
Try renaming your directory geeklog-1.4.1 to soming else without a period in the directory naming scheme. I know that I've had problems with windows using that style in the past, and haven't tried in since. Also why did you change this line $_CONF['path_html'] = 'c:/geeklog-1.4.1/public_html/'; When its supposed to read
Text Formatted Code
// You only need to change this if you moved or renamed the public_html
// directory. In that case, you should specify the complete path to the
// directory (i.e. without the $_CONF['path']) like this:
// $_CONF['path_html'] = '/path/to/your/public_html/';
$_CONF['path_html'] = $_CONF['path'] . 'public_html/';
If you comment out your line that you changed, remove the // from the other line, and make the directory name change...I believe you should be working then.
Michael
18
11
Quote
Status: offline
maggs
Forum User
Newbie
Registered: 04/11/07
Posts: 14
I changed the install directory name to c:/geeklog and changed all refrences in all config files to match. My paths section now reads;
// You only need to change this if you moved or renamed the public_html
// directory. In that case, you should specify the complete path to the
// directory (i.e. without the $_CONF['path']) like this:
// $_CONF['path_html'] = 'c:/geeklog/public_html/';
$_CONF['path_html'] = $_CONF['path'] . 'public_html/';
The error is unchanged. I can still access admin pages and not the root.
Text Formatted Code
$_CONF['path'] = 'c:/geeklog/'; // should end in a slash// You only need to change this if you moved or renamed the public_html
// directory. In that case, you should specify the complete path to the
// directory (i.e. without the $_CONF['path']) like this:
// $_CONF['path_html'] = 'c:/geeklog/public_html/';
$_CONF['path_html'] = $_CONF['path'] . 'public_html/';
The error is unchanged. I can still access admin pages and not the root.
17
15
Quote
Status: offline
maggs
Forum User
Newbie
Registered: 04/11/07
Posts: 14
Success at last. There must have been a corrupt file somewhere. I decompessed the download with winrar again and overwrote all files. Copied back in my original config.php and lib-common.php and I'm up and runnin. :banana:
The only error I have now is the trackback. I remember reading about some issues on that so I will research that myself.
Thanks to all who helped.
The only error I have now is the trackback. I remember reading about some issues on that so I will research that myself.
Thanks to all who helped.
18
10
Quote
All times are EST. The time is now 04:41 am.
- Normal Topic
- Sticky Topic
- Locked Topic
- New Post
- Sticky Topic W/ New Post
- Locked Topic W/ New Post
- View Anonymous Posts
- Able to post
- Filtered HTML Allowed
- Censored Content