Welcome to Geeklog, Anonymous Thursday, September 19 2024 @ 11:44 pm EDT

Geeklog Forums

A few mods wanted

Ddr

Forum User
Junior
First, I have to say I really love Geeklog and my hat is off to you folks for doing an awesome job of development and support. The GL community has put out a really versatile web tool.

I am setting up a new front end to my site with Geeklog. There was a long wish list when I started. Some of the things I got done on my own. I am no programmer, but I can copy/paste really well. The easy things are accomplished. Other things may just be too ambitious. But I still have a few items on my wish list. I have done some searching here on the Board and it might just be that I need some custom code written. If anyone has solutions for me, either from solutions that have already been offered or on a fee basis, I would be happy to at least discuss the options.

My wish list:

-I would like my new registrants to get a custom confirmation email, not the one they get now

-I would like new registrants to be automatically opted-in to a "newsletter group" which they can remove themselves from in the Privacy tab of "My Account". The information stored for each group member would be their start date, their username, and their email address. Of course, being in the "newsletter group" should not exclude anyone from being in the normal user groups they would be entered in.

-I would like the "newsletter group" info to be exportable (start date, username, email address) as a text file for use in an outside newsletter management application.

-I would like to redesign the LINKS page. There needs to be some space for sponsored (banner) ads and a more pleasing interface. The details can be discussed.