Welcome to Geeklog, Anonymous Friday, September 20 2024 @ 10:50 pm EDT

Geeklog Forums

Beginner's Question: How easy to port geeklog from one site to another?

Rabiul

Anonymous
hopeful
Hello,
I am new to geeklog as well as web publishing. I want to use a web content management system for my site - small and personal (not corporate or enterprise site). I have read about few of this kind of software like joomla, drupal, wordpress and geeklog. I also read that geeklog is easy to operate and good for starting new site. That is why I am interested for it. I do not want to develop or read any inner code/plugin or hack for it in future. I just want to use it easily with few mouse click and entering easy data like MySql data filename, admin name, password etc.

One may think that why do I need to use a content management system. Well, everybody is doing so, so there must be something important in it which I don't know yet clearly now and let's be prepared with the trend Mr. Green. What I feel good is, there is a searching capability of the site, good template - so that I don't have to think to design every pages and the pages are automatically linked to each other.

Now what I want to know that how easy or difficult it is to move a site made with geeklog? Is it easy to copy the geeklog folder of one hosting server and then place it to another hosting server?

Can I have a same geeklog installation folder on my local computer and after editing upload it to the hosting server, regularly?

Thank you.

Dirk

Site Admin
Admin
A one-time migration is a bit of a pain in 1.5.x right now, but that will be fixed in 1.6.0 (currently in beta).

However, what you seem to be looking for is more of a staging environment, i.e. a way to test out things before rolling them out on a live site. That's not something we really support at the moment.

There are ways around that, using things like the draft flag in stories and/or permissions, but they're not exactly elegant.